Climate Action

Climate Leadership Gala 2018 Wrap-Up

What a night! 2018’s Climate Leadership gala was full of inspiring speeches and motivating conversations about action on climate, citizen science, and plans for the 50th anniversary of Earth day in 2020. (More gala photos here.) We presented 2018’s Climate Visionary Award to Nancy Pfund, Founder and Managing Partner of DBL Partners and the 2018 Women and the Green Economy (WAGE) Leadership Award to Kathy Bushkin Calvin, President and CEO of the UN Foundation. Kathleen Matthews was our emcee, and we heard inspiring remarks by U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen of New Hampshire; Andrew Revkin, strategic adviser for environmental and science journalism at the National Geographic Society; NFL veteran and philanthropist Ovie Mughelli; and Denis Hayes, President of the Bullitt Foundation, Board Chair Emeritus of Earth Day Network, and organizer of the first Earth Day 1970.

Honoring Women

“Nancy Pfund is a global leader in the growing field of impact investing and has been instrumental in helping to tap the power of ven­ture cap­i­tal to pro­mote social and envi­ron­men­tal change. Kathy Calvin has had a distinguished career in business, technology and media. Since joining the UN Foundation she been instrumental in promoting the inclusion of women in all sectors,” said EDN President, Kathleen Rogers. Others on stage also used the opportunity to spotlight women leadership roles. (Here’s the written speech from Kathy Calvin of the UN Foundation.)

More Inspiring Speeches

Acting on Climate

The Climate Leadership Gala was launched in 2010 to honor those who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership on climate issues. Past WAGE Leadership award winners include Rachel Kyte, CEO of Sustainable Energy for All, Lisa Jackson, former Administrator, USEPA, Connie Hedegaard, EU Commissioner for Climate Action and Ambassador Melanne Verveer, US Ambassador for Global Women’s Issues. Previous Climate Visionary Award recipients include Paul Polman, Unilever CEO, Mindy Lubber, president of Ceres, and Elon Musk of SpaceX and Tesla (presented by Sir Richard Branson).

More Shared Highlights from the Climate Leadership Gala